“Strawberry Shortcakes” with Vegan Scones & Versatile Blogger Award!

As you may have noticed, this vegan baking thing is really getting to me. By that I mean, every time I go to bake something now I try to veganize it…or I look up a vegan version of what I want to make. It’s interesting to me, especially when I let others eat what I’ve made and they can’t believe that all along this word “vegan”, that registered as “tofu” in their brains, actually doesn’t mean tofu. (Ok, nobody has actually said that to me–but you get my drift…) In these pictures, it’s not completely vegan because I’m using homemade whipped cream with…real cream. But, most of the times I’ve made these I have used the frosting from my last post. You know, the one I messed up the and then fixed. It’s still pretty embarrassing that I haven’t made another batch and taken proper pictures..but that frosting has found itself new uses since then. Or, I’ve thought of every way I could make it and eat it again.

So I made these vegan scones that I found on VeganYumYum and I just changed the recipe around a little bit, because I was running low on maple syrup and I didn’t have any lemons. I’ve now made these so many times, I can almost do it with my eyes closed…and that makes me very happy. The fun thing about these is that you can flavor them any way you want and they are practically foolproof. The original recipe calls for brushing the tops with a glaze of soymilk, vanilla extract and powdered sugar and of course I’ve been using unsweetened coconut milk instead (it’s actually called Coconut Drink or Coconut Beverage because it’s not the coconut milk you get in a can. It’s the kind you get in a carton, like almond milk or soymilk, that is enriched with vitamins and minerals.) and I also sprinkle the tops with granulated sugar for some extra crunch and sweetness.

These are not very sweet, though. Just slightly. You can of course add more sugar– I’m not sure how it will affect the texture, but I honestly have not had any disaster with making these and I’ve experimented a lot. One little note though, if you’re going to be experimenting with extracts like me, be careful with how much you put in. I’m sure you know this already and have more common sense than I do, but silly me did use a whole 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla and 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract in a half batch of these…and the almond was overwhelming. Now I just use the vanilla. I is scared of zee almond extract. Oh, and I tried lemon extract once too, which came out nice except that I topped it off by knocking over the bottle onto the floor (I am notorious for not screwing on bottle caps or closing the tops to my seasonings) and let’s just say my kitchen smelled fresh and lemony clean…win? Not really.

While the whipped cream is very light and yummy with these, the vegan strawberry frosting just can’t be beat. Here’s what you do: take one and walk out of the kitchen, and put a barricade up so you can’t get back in and eat the rest of them to yourself. Or tell your other half to handcuff you………no, that actually might not be the best idea….moving on….

I want to stop and give a huge thank you to Anne from FromMySweetheart.com, for passing on the Versatile Blogger Award to me. Her blog is just beautiful and she always has the most delicious, mouthwatering recipes up. I don’t think there’s been anything she’s posted that I haven’t wanted to go and bake (or just eat). Check out her site! So here’s the rules with accepting the award…you need to thank the person who passed the award onto you and link back to them, share 7 things about yourself and then pass this award on to 15 other new or newly discovered blogs. So here goes.

1. I learn the most about something when I become completely obsessed with it. Otherwise, it’s almost like I have ADD.

2. When I was a kid (and even as a teenager), I was highly convinced I was supposed to be an actress. My life was like a movie to me, and I was always narrating it in my mind. I told my parents, and thinking they didn’t take me seriously, I once woke them up from sleep, crying my eyes out. My dad looked scared you-know-whatless and kept asking me,”What’s wrong!?” I quickly stopped crying, smiled and said,”I told you I could be an actress.” If I was my parents, I would have been deeply concerned.

3. My cousin and I also used to go around rolling down the windows in the car, after our 2-6am paper route, screaming,”We’re gonna be famous!” Others thought it was cute, we thought it was serious. I’m pretty sure we signed autographs.

4. I get irritable if I don’t get to workout, and I prefer to do a workout I’ve never done before. There’s something so effective and feel-good about not knowing what’s coming next and challenging your body in different ways.

5. I should win a Lifetime Daydreamer Award. (Anyone, anyone?)

6. Some of my biggest pet peeves are wet socks, greasy hair, and dirty sinks. The list goes on and on, but I don’t want to completely ruin your appetite.

7. I had a good few years of my life making a lot of money working from home. While I agree somewhat that,”Money can’t buy happiness“, those few years were the best of my life. Money isn’t everything, but it is something. It doesn’t “buy” you complete happiness–but it enables you to do things you’ve never done, go places you’ve never gone, eat things you’ve never tasted, meet people you would have otherwise not met, and it takes a lot of stress away. I’ve been very lucky in life.

And now 15 wonderful blogs (Ok I miscounted my original list and there’s 16, so that’s the way it is–I’m not removing anyone) I’d like to share with you (no particular order):

Cookbook Archaeology

Bakerita

Toasty Biscuit

Happy When Not Hungry

Fragrant Vanilla Cake

Tarte Du Jour

Flour Dusted

The Sweet Sensations

The Deep Dish

Naked Cupakes

A Cake Bakes In Brooklyn

Someone Who Bakes

Adryon’s Kitchen

Chop, Mix, Bake, Create

The Simple Lens
Keep It Luce

Annnnddd…the recipe:

“Strawberry Shortcakes” Vegan and non-vegan version

Makes 6 scones

Vegan Scones:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 tablespoons light brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon granulated sugar
  • 2 tablespoons Earth Balance Vegan Margarine, cold
  • 1/4 cup SO Delicious Coconut Milk (I used unsweetened)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Instructions:

1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and lightly spray with cooking spray.

2. Mix the flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, light brown sugar, and granulated sugar together evenly.

3. Using a pastry blender, or your hands, cut the cold Earth Balance into the dry mixture until it’s pretty evenly mixed throughout the dough (like making a pie dough). The butter will be spread throughout like pea sized chunks.

4. Mix in the coconut milk and vanilla extract until thoroughly combined, and gather all of the dough into a ball.

5. On a floured surface, roll out the dough until it’s between 1/2 inch and 3/4 inch thick.
6. Using either a cup or like me, a cookie cutter, cut out even sized scones and place on sprayed baking sheet.

7. Make a mixture of a tiny bit of coconut milk (about 1/2 tsp) with equal amount of powdered sugar and mix together. Brush onto the tops of the scones, and sprinkle with granulated sugar (optional).

8. Bake for 10-12 minutes, or until lightly browned on top. Remove and allow to cool fully. I like to cut mine in half to let them cool faster, and also because I like to stuff mine.

Whipped Cream (for non-vegan version):

  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1/2 tablespoon powdered sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Beat the ingredients together until soft peaks form. I like doing this by hand, it’s a good workout for the arms and it’s actually not as daunting a task as you might think. Rather than it being about the power you put into it, it’s more about the movement. What I do is focus on incorporating a lot of air by sweeping the whisk under the cream and lifting it over in a brisk (but not necessarily hard) scooping motion. Fast is better, but if your arm gets tired, continue the motion slower. Try using the wrist more when your arm gets tired. Within 5 minutes, you’ll have whipped cream and more muscle. :)

Vegan Strawberry Cream Cheese Frosting (repeat of last recipe, but worth it)

  • 1 tablespoon pureed strawberries (I just took some slices of strawberries that I used to stuff the scones and mashed them up with a fork)
  • 2 tablespoons Earth Balance Vegan Margarine, softened
  • 2 tablespoons Tofutti “Cream Cheese”
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 3/4 cups sifted powdered sugar
  • Beat the Earth Balance and Toffuti together until light and fluffy, then add the pureed strawberries and vanilla. Mix in the powdered sugar gradually, and beat until creamy. Super easy and delicious!

    Last but not least, stuff your scones with either the whipped cream of the vegan strawberry frosting and fresh chopped strawberries and enjoy! These also taste yummy if stuffed and refrigerated. I actually like the slight crunch on the outside and then the absorpbtion of some of the whipped cream or frosting and juices from the strawberry on the inside after it gets cold in the refrigerator. :)

29 Comments

Filed under Pastries, Vegan

29 responses to ““Strawberry Shortcakes” with Vegan Scones & Versatile Blogger Award!

  1. Thank you Karissa for sharing the Versatile Blogger Award with me, I’m honored to be in such great company. I had never considered eating, or baking anything vegan until I joined Foodbuzz. There are so many awesome vegan dessert recipes here and your’s ranks among the best. Thank you again, and your Strawberry Shortcake is divine. And for making whipped cream by hand you should get another award!

    • Sandra, it’s really one of the coolest things about this whole process–the people and the things you learn. I’ve learned a lot and I can’t wait to learn more. I’m glad to have met you (over the internet anyways) and I’m happy to pass this on to you–you deserve it! Btw, I must be weird because grating a pound of carrots and whipping cream is fun for me. It’s the only kind of burn in the kitchen I don’t mind getting. :)

  2. First off – that strawberry shortcake looks so delicious!
    Secondly – thank you so much for the award! I’m honored to be in such great company!! Your site is amazing and I look forward to perusing it!!

    • Thank you Rachel! I feel the same way about you and your blog, although I have to say you are probably more awesome than you realize. ;) But that’s ok, that makes you even more awesome! Haha

  3. I try to veganize dishes too, my kids have milk and egg allergies. The problem I have is they also have nut and soy allergies which makes going vegan pretty darn difficult since nut and soy tend to be the two major substitution alternatives to meat and protein. These scones are definitely something I would like to try.

    • You’re right–it’s difficult to find vegan options without soy or nuts and I can only imagine baking would be the same way. I’ve been reading ‘The Divvie’s Bakery Cookbook – No Nuts, No Eggs, No Dairy, Just Delicious’…but it does use a lot of silken tofu in recipes, and I’m not too crazy about soy in general. I’m going to be experimenting soon with ground flaxseed meal as an egg substitute…I love hearing about all these new ways to eliminate dairy!

  4. Wow – thank you for sharing this award with me! Such a nice thing, really. You made my day:) Your strawberry shortcakes rock! I really enjoyed reading about you. You sound like a lot of fun! Keep up the great work!!

    • Yay I’m glad! You deserve it, your blog is really amazing. My boyfriend caught a glimpse of my screen when I was at your site and his eyes got all wide. Then I had to cook. lol! And thanks so much, I appreciate it! :)

  5. Looks delicious! I’m like you… I try to veganize many of my dishes. If I think there’s a way to make a dish or baked good vegan and it will not sacrifice flavor… then vegan it is! :D

  6. These look so AMAZING!! Perfect summer dessert!

  7. Congrats on your award!!

    I’ll take a strawberry shortcake any time, even if it is vegan! ;-) I’m sure the biscuit is just as delicious as its counterpart… it looks amazing!

    • Thanks Kate! :D I test the things I bake on my younger (but taller than me) brother who is anti-vegetarian. When he requested I make more of these, I was happy.

  8. Amy

    Thanks so much for the award, that is very sweet :)! Your shortcakes by the way, look awesome, I love that they are flower shaped! Hope you are having a wonderful week :)!

    • Yw Amy! And thank you…I realized I only had Christmas cookie cutters and then I found this one for $1..so, needless to say, it’s been very busy since. :) Hope you’re having a wonderful week as well!

  9. Many thanks for sharing the award – and this lovely recipe! Those strawberries are so, so gorgeous, and I always love experiments with vegan baking…

    • You’re welcome Celia, I’ve secretly admired your blog for a while now. :) Thank you for stopping by! And I agree…vegan baking is fun and never ceases to intrigue me.

  10. Sarah

    First off, I also thought my life was a like a movie when I was a kid, and my parents used to call me Sarah Bernhardt (a French stage and early film actress, which goes to show you how old I am!). I really wanted to be an actress, but while calling me “Sarah Bernhardt” my parents also quashed any dreams I had of actually becoming one. (Talk about mixed signals!) It’s no wonder I still don’t know what I should be when I grow up.

    But I digress … these shortcakes look amazing! And baking with So Delicious coconut milk is like a dream. And since your photos of whipped-cream filled shortcakes are making me salivate, (and I’m vegan), I’m going to whip up a box of Healthy Top whipped cream and make these tonight!

    • Sarah, thanks for sharing that little story with me, I loved it. Glad to know I wasn’t the only kid with a very active imagination–and you know, it’s never too late to take a shot at acting! ;) I’d love to one day just for fun…but I’ve always been a bit too shy.

      And thank you, I actually made a batch of these this morning but I used almond milk, more cinnamon, added some toffee bits, and glazed it with a vegan cream cheese icing and it tasted like a cinnamon bun! These are fun to experiment with, hope you like them. :)

  11. Congrats on your award! You have a great blog, and you deserve it!
    Your strawberry shortcake looks delicious – vegan or not!

  12. I would kill for one of these shortcakes right now…they are just adorable as heck. :)

    Congrats on your award! Thank you for thinking of me. :)

  13. oh my gosh, those look amazing!!!

  14. thanks again!! you are the best!! and what PERFECT looking strawberry shortcakes!! <3 SO GOOD.

  15. Congratulations on the award!
    They look divine!

  16. Congratulations on your award :) I love that these are not too sweet but would have to change out the fruit due to allergy…plus they just look amazing :)

Leave a Reply

