Classic Vegan Berry Crumble Bars

I know, I know. I’m a slacker. I haven’t lost interest or become bored with this blog and I haven’t lost interest or become bored with baking. I promise! I’m just adjusting to a couple of things. One is a new sleep schedule and the other is a new computer. Well, it’s not new, it’s actually my old computer…but my awesome little ThinkPad broke. :( I have to wait to *hopefully* get it fixed and recover all my files. AHH! I can’t even think about it. This one is a MacBook Pro, but the battery exploded out of the bottom of it, the mousepad doesn’t work, and a USB port is broken on it as well so I only have one and have to use a hub that sometimes decides not to cooperate. On a brighter note, my sleep schedule is to my liking. I’m waking up super early in the morning (I’ve always envied early risers…and I am now one myself…for now) and I get the mornings to myself before the world is awake and the sun comes out. It has to be my favorite part of the day.

These crumble bars come from a recipe in The Divvie’s Bakery Cookbook – No Nuts, No Eggs, No Dairy. Just Delicious by Lori Sandler. I haven’t made much from this book because a lot of things call for silken tofu and I just have not tried baking with that (yet) so I go for the things I can make. This is one of those things, and it was such a yummy breakfast, snack on the road, dessert, etc. Yes, I had it for all 3. It’s a perfect mix of the things a lot of us naturally crave or eat more of this time of the year which is fruit, and some things I don’t think I could ever turn down–a shortbread crust and a crumble topping. These were super easy to make, and they’re VEGAN…with the exception of the addition I decided to make which was adding lemon curd to the berry mixture, but that’s only because I didn’t have any actual lemons on hand and I figured it would help thicken up the crushed mixed berries I used instead of preserves. If you’re using preserves like the recipe calls for and don’t make things so complicated for yourself, they will come out perfecto. I also added some vanilla to the crust and a pinch of salt, because it tasted a little bland and in need of some flavor when I tried it the way the recipe is written. These are YUMMY…but don’t be like me and get impatient, I did under bake them a little bit and when they cooled down they were a little too soft. My boyfriend could not stop eating these. Yeah, they disappeared. I didn’t realize until I ate the last piece that,”Oh…that was the last piece.” Pretttyyy tasty.

Classic Berry Crumble Barsadapted from ‘The Divvies Bakery Cookbook – No Nuts, No Eggs, No Dairy. Just Delicious

Makes 9-12 bars

The Crust

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup Earth Balance vegan margarine, chilled
  • 1/3 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Pinch of salt

The Topping

  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup Earth Balance vegan margarine, at room temperature
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

The Filling

  • 1 cup fruit preserves (original recipe calls for 1/2 raspberry and 1/2 strawberry)

The Glaze

  • 1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Non-dairy milk (almond, coconut, soy, rice)

For the Crust

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Spray a 9×9 inch pan with nonstick baking spray.

2. Combine the flour, margarine, vanilla, and brown sugar and mix until combined into a fine, crumbly texture.

3. Press the mixture into the bottom of a prepared pan and make sure it’s evenly distributed. Bake the crust approximately 20 minutes, until edges are just lightly browned.

For the Topping

1. Combine the flour, brown sugar, margarine, and vanilla. Beat until well mixed and then set aside.

For the Filling

1. Spread the preserve mixture on the hot, partially baked crust, leaving 1/8 inch of the outer edge uncovered. Sprinkle with the crumb topping. Return to the oven and continue baking for 20 to 25 minutes.

2. Cool the bars completely.

For the Glaze

Whisk the confectioners’ sugar and vanilla in a small bowl. Stir in enough non-dairy milk to reach a glaze consistency. Drizzle the glaze over the bars.

2. Once the glaze has set, cut into 3×2 inch bars and place on a doily-lined platter.

6 Comments

Filed under Bars, Breakfast, Vegan

6 responses to “Classic Vegan Berry Crumble Bars

  1. I have to admit, I’d pick off the entire crumble topping and eat it all on my own!! This looks so yummy!

  2. These bars look beautiful! Love the flavors too!

  3. These look so good! I love the addition of the glaze on top! Glad you enjoy being an early riser. I am not one by choice!

  4. These look delicious! I’m an early riser and love the peace in the morning. I hope you are enjoying your new computer…

  5. These look wonderful! I love the combo of strawberry/raspberry. So sweet! Your photography is just beautiful too! Another page I am going to bookmark! (I sent you an email…hope you got it!) : )

  6. Oooooh those look so good! And your pictures… fantastic. They look so rich and sweet and I think I need a bib. Great recipe.

Leave a Reply

