Wisdom Teeth Extraction + Vegan Curiosity?

All 4. 2 impacted. Fun! 😉 I got them removed on Monday morning. I was a nervous wreck. I have always had a fear of dentists, of surgery, and of anesthesia…so you mix all 3 together and let’s just say it was a good thing they had me take a tranquilizer the night before and an hour before. I somehow was composed enough that when I went into the surgery room, I said,”I forgot to brush my teeth this morning, is there somewhere I can brush my teeth?“. They said it was fine, but that there was a bathroom at the end of the hall that I could use. I walk almost drunkily to the bathroom and look around. There’s the toilet. There’s the sink. There’s the mirror. No toothbrush. No toothpaste. Oh, snap. In my drowsy state, I had assumed they would have some in there since they told me I could brush my teeth in the bathroom. Instead of walking back in and requesting a toothbrush and toothpaste, I decided I was much too tired to care and simply said, “Oops, I forgot my toothbrush.” Yeah, like I didn’t realize before walking to the bathroom that I didn’t even bring one with me. I’m so clever. I proceeded to lie down in the chair.

I began to panic once they started strapping me in, as if I was in some insane asylum. “This is for this”, “This is for that”…oh gosh. This is actually happening. My surgeon rolled up my sleeve and inserted something into my arm. I asked what it was and he said it was what was going to put me to sleep. Just before I had time to freak out about it, I remember suddenly being in a dream. A few seconds later, I remember a yellow room. Blur. My boyfriend on my right and a woman on my left. I remember talking to them, but I don’t remember what I said. I thought it was a dream, but apparently, it was me coming out of anesthesia. The next hour also felt like a dream. Wheelchair. Gauze out of my mouth. Why is my lip like this? We’re at CVS. My dad is on the phone saying I’m being difficult. I’m laughing. I feel high. I’ve never been high before, am I high? I’m home. I’m taking my meds. I feel more high. Wow my lip is fat.


And that’s what I remember. A video my boyfriend took of me of when we got home and I was apparently “more with it” proved that things did not go the way I vaguely remembered. I was being over dramatic, whiney, panicky, obnoxious, and well, so ridiculous. I cringed at the sight of how I was acting, but then we both just laughed hysterically. The past few days have been no laughing matter, however. Day 2 I was swollen on the left side of my face and I called my surgeon’s office and was told it was normal and would be worse the next day. “I don’t see how it can get worse…” Oh, it did. Day 3 I looked like Quagmire from Family Guy. And the pain was by far the worse. The percocets didn’t do much for the pain and swelling, except they did help me nap. Going to sleep that night was hell, I was swelling so much all the way down my chin to my neck that I thought my throat was closing up.

I am on Day 4 now. The swelling is finally going down, but my jaw just barely opens enough for me to fit a spoon in my mouth, and I can barely brush my teeth. I’ve resorted to pureeing just about everything I can consume, except for the flourless chocolate cake that I made last night, but that melts in the mouth–so, it counts…? I’ve discovered that hummus doesn’t need chips or pita bread, after eating an entire bowl without any choice to eat it by itself. I made it with a combination of walnut oil and extra virgin olive oil, garlic powder, onion powder, some paprika, red pepper flakes, a tiny bit of chilli powder, some water to get it to blend better and have a better consistency, lemon juice, salt and pepper. I love my handheld blender. A couple of nights ago, I made an anti-inflammatory dinner, desperate to make the swelling go down, by making garlic and onion mashed potatoes with walnut oil (omega 3’s, and the anti-inflammatory properties of the garlic and onion powders), and black eyed peas in a sauce made of curry powder, cinnamon, honey, yogurt, and organic ginger tea. Today, I used the leftover mashed potatoes (I don’t like wasting food, I’ll eat leftovers for 2-3 days if I have to) and made black bean mashed potatoes. I pureed the black beans in my garlic mashed potatoes and seasoned it with some dried red bell pepper, rosemary, peppercorns, and a little bit of paprika. Sounds funny, but it was delicious! It’s a great way to use up beans, especially if you eat a lot of beans like me and are getting tired of them (or you can’t chew like me) and want to get your fiber in for the day. Puree. It’s your friend.

Another thing happened in the past few days. I was looking around on my instant Netflix for a food documentary, and found,’Change Your Diet, Change Your Life‘ which really opened my eyes to the vegan lifestyle and presented me with facts I honestly never knew. I took notes, and just had to share this information with all of you. The documentary came out in 2005, and I’m still planning on researching all of this further to confirm that all of these things are accurate, but they are incredibly interesting. So here they are…

Most of these are practically direct quotes, word for word from ‘Change Your Diet, Change Your Life‘.

  • An average American in their lifetime will eat 15 cows, 12 sheep, 24 pigs, and 900 chickens plus 1,000 pounds of other assorted animals that swam or flew.
  • 1 out of every 2 men and 1 out of every 3 women dies of heart disease. It’s the #1 killer in this country, larger than the following 6 reasons for death combined.
  • Every 30 seconds, someone in the US has a heart attack or stroke. The correlation between cholesterol, fat, and death from heart disease are amongst the strongest in world medical research.
  • The US leads the world in cholesterol intake and leading the world in death from heart disease.
  • The only way to get cholesterol into body is from eating animal products. There is ZERO cholesterol in plant food.
  • Blood cells stick together after high fat meal and takes 12 hours to go back to normal.
  • So much aging is from animal fats in arteries and veins and over time it weakens our system. Every part of our body needs oxygen and nutrients and our blood is what carries that, so by having the animal fat slowing it down affects the oxygen and nutrients to getting to parts of our bodies.
  • Most cheeses have between 73-91% fat and most meat has between 65-94% fat.
  • When you eat animal products, you’re getting animals stored of fat, cholesterol, and hormones. Also the store of fat soluble toxins, and you’re not getting any fiber.
  • There is NO fiber in any animal product. It’s the janitorial system for our bodies, and yet animals don’t provide fiber for us.
  • Over half the water in our country goes to to factory farmed animals.
  • It takes 2,500 gallons of water to produce 1 pound of meat.
  • Animals for slaughter are producing about 10x more excrement than the entire human population, and the run-off is ruining our rivers and lakes.
  • Diet of slaughter animals: shredded newspaper, “plastic hay”, processed sewage, inedible tallow and grasses, poultry litter, sawdust laced with ammonia and feathers, cement dust, cardboard scraps, insecticides, antibiotics, hormones, ground up dead animals.
  • Over 70% of the antibiotics in this country aren’t used for humans, they’re used for animals that we consume.
  • We feed dead animals back to animals as feed.
  • Myth: Vegetarians and vegans don’t get enough protein: The recommended daily allowances for protein were based on a study that was done on rats in 1914. Rat milk is 49% protein. Human milk is 5% protein, which is what we need when we’re babies. Adults don’t need more than that.
  • “More protein is OK”–is actually wrong. Animal foods are too acidic for our body. All fruits and vegetables are alkaline based. When you eat animal products and you get the high acid content, your body tries to stabilize your pH level by drawing out an alkaline substance (calcium) from your bones. It’s called Protein-induced hypercalciuria. Every time you eat animal protein, you will urinate out your calcium for the next couple of hours.
  • Osteoporosis is not a disease caused from not getting enough calcium, its caused by eating too much animal protein. In goes animal protein, out goes calcium.
  • If eating dairy meant more calcium, what you’d find is the countries with the highest calcium intake would have the least amount of osteoporosis. But it’s actually the opposite. The countries with the highest dairy intake have the highest amount of osteoporosis, including the US.
  • Myth: Chicken and fish is healthier than pig or cow. It can be lower in fat, but can have the same amt of cholesterol. Chicken and beef have the same amount, and youre still getting hormones, still getting the stored up toxins, not getting the nutrients from the source, not getting any fiber, and still urinating out the calcium.
  • “Why doesn’t my doctor tell me about this stuff?”–Doctors used to prescribe cigarettes, they don’t always know best about nutrition. The avg physician in this country receives less than 3 hours of training in nutrition in 4 years of medical school. We focus more on the treatment than the cause of disease.
  • Myth: You have to be overweight to die of heart disease.
  • How we are more like Herbivores than Carnivores
    Carnivores have claws. Herbivores and Humans do not.
    Carnivores have sharp pointed front teeth. Herbivores and humans do not.
    Carnivores don’t have flat back molar teeth. Herbivores and Humans do. (We also have sliding jaw joints to grind grains, etc. Carnivores do not)
    Carnivores do not have pores on their skin. Herbivores and Humans do.
    Canivores have small salivary glands. Herbivores and Humans have well developed salivary glands.
    Canivores have acid saliva. Herbivores and Humans have Alkaline saliva.
    Carnivores have no ptyalin in their saliva. Herbivores and Humans have pytaln in our saliva, which is an enzyme to break down starch)<br<
    Carnivores have a lot of hydrochloric acid in their stomach. Herbivores and Humans have 1/20th of the strength of hydrochloric acid in our stomach.
    Carnivores have a short intestinal tract – 3 times body length. Herbivores and Humans have a long intestinal tract – 10 to 12 times body length.
  • If you still think you were designed to eat meat, next time you see a cow on the side of the road–run, jump up on his back and try to bite through it’s hide. You’ll find your mouth and teeth are rather small and you won’t be able to do it.
  • Calcium Debate: Calcium is plentiful in plants. Calcium is just a mineral and all minerals are in the Earth, in the soil, and grow into the plants.
  • “Cow’s milk is perfect for a baby cow. If you were a baby cow, you would have a 4 chamber stomach, you’d be 65 lbs at birth and 400 lbs by your first birthday, and by your second birthday you’d weigh 2,000 pounds.
  • “We need cow’s milk about as much as we need rat milk, dog milk, or monkey milk. Even adult cows don’t drink cow milk. It’s kind of silly if you think about it that we haven’t weaned ourself off the infant juice of another species.”
  • Food for thought. Some beautiful Vegetarian/Vegan blog linkage to say goodbye:

    Amazing to look at and read–Vegan YumYum
    First vegan winner of Cupcake Wars, Chloe at ChefChloe.com
    VeggieBelly is a gorgeous blog
    Mouth watering photos and recipes at Healthy. Happy. Life
    Chow Vegan caught my boyfriend’s attention, which isn’t easy to do unless it’s real meat.
    I love the concept of FatFreeVegan.com, it’s right up my alley
    Enjoy.

11 Comments

Filed under Food Related, Vegan

11 responses to “Wisdom Teeth Extraction + Vegan Curiosity?

  1. What a fun read! You have a very whimsical voice. I stumbled onto your blog via Foodbuzz. Now usually, I don’t like to stumble in public but this time I’m glad I did. I look forward to reading more! Take care, Warren

    PS. Any way one can subscribe to your blog?

  2. Hi Karissa! I came here from your foodbuzz friend request. I also got my all of four wisdom teeth removed, all at once, when I was around your age too (I mean.. 10 years ago). It was hard for the first week, but I’m glad I did it at one time and no worry since then. I don’t bake much, but I love eating all kinds of baked stuff. All of your sweets look delicious! One day I need to start baking…but just too busy with my two little kids. It’s really nice to meet you, and hey I’m also 5 feet, exact… 🙂

  3. Warren–I’m glad you did too! And yes, I actually just realized (thanks to you) that this new template didn’t have the RSS link–so I sent one up. Thanks a lot for stopping by and for the very nice compliment. 🙂

    Nami–So glad you checked out my blog, and yes you’re right the first week was definitely hard (the worst), but I’m finally starting to feel normal again–yay! I hope you find some time to get in the kitchen and bake something soon, for me it’s the best thing because I always have such a sweet tooth. The enjoyment of eating it makes up for the annoyance of the clean up. It’s nice to meet you too, extra points since we’re (almost) the same height!

  4. Yikes! I had my wisdom teeth out about 6 years ago and it was no walk in the park! Feel better! And interesting ‘facts’ from the movie… the more I learn about food and the food industry, the more I want to eat only food that I grow and prepare myself. It’s SCARY!

    • Tiffany–My entire family assured me it would be a piece of cake. They lied, but I still love them. Definitely not a walk in the park, but that would have been nice! 🙂 And you’re so right. I rarely buy anything processed now (I try not to anyways), and I’d love to have my own garden.

  5. Hi, I came here via Warren’s website.. lovely post. I also waiver on the vegan/vegetarian ‘thing’. Animal produce is just so bad for you. As well as all the things you mentioned above, have you ever looked into the life of a dairy cow ? It’s very quietly concealed, no one much talks about it, but if you do a search on the web you’ll see what I mean. As a wanna be-haven’t-quite-plucked-up-the-courage-yet veggie/vegan you’ll find a couple of my own veggie recipes that came about almost by mistake if you are interested.
    Well, I hope your mouth is on the mend, that story is pretty horrific, I was talking dentists with a couple of girlfriends earlier. We all agreed – we no like. All the best, KG.

    • Hi Kooky Girl, thanks for visiting. 🙂 I really haven’t done much research on the life of a dairy cow, that was one of the next things on my list because a friend of mine was telling me what happens to the babies and I was shocked. I really would find it difficult switching completely to vegan (I adore real cheesecake and real ice cream) but I love trying vegan recipes.

      & Thank you, it’s healing up finally. I concur! Me no like either.

  6. Getting your wisdom teeth removed sounds way too painful and I have to get all 4 removed too ughh. Love your writing I felt like I was there the way you described everything. Your hummus sounds delicious, when I worked at a restaurant we made it the exact same way but with citrus from manadarins as well as lime and lemon juice. Love your site is there any way to subscribe?

    • Hi Ky, I’m glad you felt like you were there but at the same time I don’t want to freak you out! The part of getting them out was a breeze, I kept telling my family I thought I was in a video game or a movie coming out of the anesthesia (unfortunately caught on video too). The recovery was only rough because I had 2 impacted. You will be fine! I’m also the biggest wimp. 😛

      Citrus from mandarins in hummus? That sounds like it would taste amazing, I never would have thought of that. I’ll have to try it, thanks. 🙂 There is a link on the top left under “Want More?” to subscribe via RSS. I will put up an email subscription link too if you want. Thanks for stopping by! 😀

  7. Hi, Yes the babies are taken away from the mom too soon as well.. The cow basically has a 12 month cycle of inseminate-birth-milk, inseminate- birth- milk, inseminate-birth-milk and so it goes on til the poor cow is done in. Not good. Thank you for stopping by my blog earlier. :o) Makes me very happy to know I have readers. All the best, KG.

  8. Hey new foodie friend. Ok—I’m a horrible person **hanging head** your account of having your teeth pulled made me laugh. Great writing! And the info on vegan–interesting! Thanks for the friend request and a wonderful way to start my day!

Leave a Reply

