Vegan Oatmeal Cookies

I’ve made these 3 times (or was it 4?…) in the past week. Even though I’ve had a hard time chewing things, these have been soft enough for me to chew. I made a mini batch last night for a family get together and instead of a tablespoon measuring spoon baking at 8 minutes, I did a teaspoon worth of dough for each cookie and they took only 4 1/2-5 minutes to bake. Not only were they adorable, but everyone literally ate them up. Since it was up against the key lime pie with chocolate graham cracker crust (I’ve made the key lime pie more than 4 times now from Bobby Flay’s Throwdown recipe, but I only had chocolate grahams this time) and pecan bars that are the best recipe for those who think,”I love pecan pie, but I don’t want to make a pie crust“, like myself (recipe will be up eventually!), these were a success to say the least.

My family kept taking another vegan oatmeal cookie and saying,”Mmmm” and “I heard ‘vegan’ and thought it would be gross, but they’re delicious.” I guess I’m going to be making them again for tomorrow night. Although, the key lime pie and pecan bars did not go unnoticed. My boyfriend continued eating some that I left at home for us until 2am, and he was blaming me for his addiction. He said something along the ridiculous lines of,”I have pecan bar obsessive compulsive disorder.” I don’t remember exactly how he worded it (I was tired), but it’s too bad because I’m pretty sure it was direct quote-worthy.

These are soft and chewy cookies, the way I like them. My boyfriend prefers crunchy, so you could add a couple of minutes to the baking time, if that’s your preference too. They are so easy, and they are definitely a way of introducing people to a vegan recipe for those who don’t know what vegan is, would never think to try anything vegan, or just to make a healthier cookie. There’s no eggs and no butter, that is not a bad thing! I’ve done some thinking about the whole vegan diet. I picture myself walking by a bakery and saying,”Oh darn, guess I can’t have a cannoli or a piece of cheesecake.” –or being in the presence of my mom’s famous cucumber and dill bread bowl (which is going down tomorrow night) or her also very famous taco dip and stare at it and say,”Sorry mom, it’s too bad that has cream cheese and sour cream in it.” I love being able to eat ice cream, or chocolate cake, or whipped cream. I know there’s vegan ice cream and vegan chocolate cake, but I’m struggling between wanting to do something that I feel like is the right thing on one hand and being intimidated by the changes I’d have to make (which does mean spending more money) and what I want to eat on the other. I believe a vegan diet is healthier than what I’m eating now, but I have many conflicting thoughts on it at the moment. I actually wrote an entire post during the day that this was on my mind the most, and have it saved in my drafts. Since my last post was my first non-recipe post, I didn’t want to bore everyone with more rambling (which is what I’m doing now).

So, maybe in the future I will post it. For now, here’s the vegan oatmeal cookies. P.S. You don’t have to be vegan to make vegan cookies, and you don’t have to avoid vegan recipes just because you’re not planning on going vegan. I think we all hear these names like,”vegetarian” and “vegan” and we think,”Nah, I’m not going to be vegan, why would I make anything vegan?” Well, it just may be yummy! In my opinion, these are pretty darn yummy. People have told me they like them better than regular oatmeal cookies! Also, it doesn’t have to be made with tofu to be vegan (to all you tofu dislikers). Try these and enjoy!

Vegan Oatmeal Cookies – adapted from Alicia Silverstone’s ‘The Kind Diet‘ (I found the recipe at ParisPastry)
The recipe says it makes 10-12 cookies for regular size, but I made a half batch once of tablespoon sized dough and got about that many. Also, the mini batch made over 40 cookies for me.

    Ingredients:

  • 1 cup quick-cooking rolled oats
  • 1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
  • ⅓ cup maple sugar (you could also use dark brown sugar, but then I don’t think it’s technically vegan)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • ⅓ cup pure maple syrup
  • ½ cup canola oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • ¼ cup raisins, chopped walnuts, or chocolate chips (optional, and the chocolate chips I have aren’t vegan)

Instructions:
1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or aluminum foil.

2. Combine the oats, flour, sugar, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl. In a separate bowl, combine the syrup, oil and vanilla extract. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients, and stir to combine. Fold in the raisins, nuts, or chocolate chips, if you’re using them.

3. Scoop out a tablespoon size amount of dough (use a measuring spoon to be exact) if you want regular size cookies, or a teaspoon size for mini cookies (the dough will look like it won’t even become a cookie, but it will!) Using your hands, roll the dough into balls and place on the baking sheet. Press down slightly to flatten the tops. For tablespoon size cookies, bake for about 8-10 minutes or until very lightly browned. For teaspoon sized mini cookies, bake for about 5 minutes. Tip: Allow to cool for a couple of minutes on the baking sheet before moving to a wire rack, because they will be so soft and fragile, they won’t hold their shape.

4. Allow to fully cool, and then eat & enjoy!

19 Comments

Filed under Cookies, Vegan

19 responses to “Vegan Oatmeal Cookies

  1. Yum. These look so good. I definitely plan to give these a try. We aren’t vegan, but due to food allergies and celiac disease, we eat dairy-free, soy-free, gluten-free, and corn-free. I love making vegan cookies because they always seem to have a bit of body (I have never been a fan of cookies that spread too thin) AND I love being able to let my kidlets nibble raw cookie dough!

    • Yes, I love being able to eat the dough too. My boyfriend will eat raw eggs in a batter, but I just can’t do it. Also, I personally feel better physically when I eat gluten free. I’ve been slacking lately, but Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free All-Purpose Flour would probably substitute great in this recipe. Hope you enjoy, and thanks for stopping by!

  2. Vegan or not, these look really, REALLY good. Sorry about your sore mouth, and that you are struggling with how best to eat. It’s a tough one, I sort of know that. I was quite literally forced to go low carb because of diabetes…but I don’t do all meat and nothing else. I’ve managed to figure out lots of ways to bake and eat and enjoy, and still be low carb.

  3. My kids have milk and egg allergies (and nuts) so more often than not, when I see a cookie recipe that says vegan I know I won’t have to do too many substitutions. Thanks for posting and also for requesting the friend connect on foodbuzz. I buzzed ya back. 🙂

    • I prefer vegan recipes because it’s nice to not have to use eggs and butter, but I’m sure they make things a lot easier if you’re dealing with allergies too. And thank you for the buzz & for stopping by!

  4. It’s fun to read vegan recipes and realize that I can make a cookie without an egg. This recipe sounds great. Hope you are recovering well from those wisdom teeth. I had mine out one year over Thanksgiving weekend. I vaguely remember “drinking” Thanksgiving dinner.

    • Oh bummer! I’m finally past the stage of having to drink my food, that was getting old real fast. And yes, I’m not complaining that I didn’t need to use eggs for this. I’m obsessed with this recipe now.

  5. Hi Karissa! It’s Anne @ frommysweetheart. Love your site! And am now a subscriber! It all looks so good! I don’t know where to start! (Probably with the puff pastries…they caught my eye on FoodBuzz!) : )

  6. i am not vegan but i like trying out vegan and vegetarian recipes. i always find it fun to try different things. these cookies look yummy and you photographed them so well 🙂

    • Thank you! I’m the same way, and it’s great to find a good recipe that doesn’t use up any butter or eggs. This recipe is a definite keeper. 🙂

  7. i’m sold–your cookies look great!

  8. oh my gosh! these cookies look amazing!

  9. April D.

    Can’t wait to try this recipe. My oven is warming as I type. I’ve been Vegan for almost 9 months now and LOVE IT! I was vegetarian for over a year before I became Vegan and the switch wasn’t too hard. Not only do I feel good about it, I feel better. Going vegan doesn’t mean missing out on good food, it just means eating good food with much less guilt!!! thanks again for the recipe!

    • Hi April! That’s awesome, I hope you like them. I like making little switches and trying vegan things when I can, but I haven’t made the complete change over. I agree though, it does make me feel better as well. The nice thing is there is so much more about vegan food now than there ever was, so finding good tested recipes is thankfully much easier!

  10. I like this recipe. It looks wonderful.I followed you from the foodie blog roll and I’d love to guide Foodista readers to your site. I hope you could add this oatmeal widget at the end of this post so we could add you in our list of food bloggers who blogged about oatmeal,Thanks!

  11. Kailey M.

    Mine went completely flat and grew together even though I made them fairly small and spaced them each two inches a part. They were paper thin, oily, and mushy. I added more baking powder to the next batch but it did not help much. I don’t know what happened.

  12. Kailey, I’m really sorry that they didn’t come out properly! I know how frustrating it is to spend all that time and using ingredients for it not to work. I have made these more times than I can count, and I’ve never had them come out the way you described though. In fact, I realized I preferred them undercooked because they can dry out easily. The baking powder can affect them not rising (and sometimes it’s due to the baking powder being old, not necessarily measured wrong) but if they are very oily after cooking them and spreading that much, it sounds like too much oil/liquid or not enough dry ingredients is the problem. Here is the link to the recipe by Alicia Silverstone that this was adapted from, maybe you can find out what went wrong and try these again sometime! Thanks for visiting. http://www.oprah.com/food/Oatmeal-Walnut-and-Dried-Plum-Cookies

Leave a Reply

